Workstreaming: giving Twitter a day job

28Jan08

I thought Twitter was the dumbest thing in the universe until very recently, when I read a great idea about how to use it for something other than letting total strangers know how your ham sandwich tastes.

It’s called “workstreaming,” best described as ongoing answers to this modified Twitter prompt: “What are you doing right now (that’s work-related)?”

This seemed useful to me because it creates a way for me to monitor my productivity when I’m working from home. It creates an automatic archive of how I use my time. Plus, knowing it’s there, may make me use my time better. (Theoretically, my clients/co-workers could use it to see what I’m doing at any given time of day, but that presupposes a level of giving-a-shit on their part that I doubt exists yet.)



